Completing the #JustWriteIt Challenge

Wow! I did it!

I wrote 10,000 words in less than 30 days without any panic attacks, insomnia, too much chocolate bingeing or crying. Although to be honest, I did kill of way too many characters, after promising them they’d still be alive at the end of the game, and my mom is wondering where all the chocolate chips disappeared too.

Oops!

I look back over the mess I hastily ‘edited’ and posted last night and I groan because the amount of grunt work that I have to put into making my story believable and actually a story in general, makes me cringe.

I was at a #wattpad4 chat on Twitter when this story idea came to me.  We were chatting about how to write an adventure story and I was looking for a Beyonce gif to complete my tweet.  You could say the queen inspired me. The concept for this story is, on the surface, very simple: what if you threw back the lemon’s life gave you instead of making lemonade?

I spent nearly two weeks crafting the idea into life so that I could begin typing it out and after about 500,000 prayers for guidance and a couple dozen restless nights I put my pen to paper – in reality it I place my fingers on the keyboard and struggled through midnight writing sessions (until the deadline was 24 hours away and they inspiration hit like a mad man and I went crazy.)

 Why did I sign up for this?

It also makes me worry for NaNoWriMo this November, although I have already begun preparing and I will actually start working on it at the beginning of the month instead of the middle, because in doing this JustWriteIt challenge, I realized that it takes me at least two weeks of outlining and filling out character questionnaires before I can even think about or find my writing groove. O, how I miss the days when I could just sit down and write without inhibitions, but I have matured as a writer and as a persona and I’m afraid they’re over. *sigh*  

 I love how this challenge, though accepted hastily on the whim of a Wattpad4 chat, helped me realize why I was having writer’s block in the first place.  I didn’t want to accept that I needed God’s help and that I was changing, therefore my writing and it’s style was changing. Now, I know and have accepted the change.


May the books ever multiply.

I’m currently in a dilemma over whether to edit September’s JustWriteIt Adventure or try again with October’s JustWriteIt Thriller.  P.R.O.J.E.C.T. Lemonade (the title of the novella I wrote for September) is far from finished but I’m undecided in whether or not I should take a short break from it, after all, it did take up all of my life for two and a half weeks. But whatever I choose I look forward to the stories that I have yet to tell and the trials that will take me there.

Elisa

One thought on “Completing the #JustWriteIt Challenge

Comments are closed.