NaNoWriMo 2016 – Day 1 – Our Journey Begins

I’m ready to start NaNoWriNo, but yet, I’m not.  My classes are complete, I’ve fed myself and my outline sits in Evernote, full of little treats to explore, but..

…I almost don’t want to start. I want to savor this moment, the anticipation that bubbles in my stomach and the delicious nerves that make me come alive.

I’m also scared. I’m scared that I’m starting something that I can never finish, I’m scared because I haven’t started yet and so many are already a thousand words in, and I’m scared because I’m about to write the longest story that I’ve written yet. What if I’m only good at telling short stories? what if my novel sucks? What if.

Take a breath, relax.  Turn off those little voices and just write.

I guess I should follow my own advice.

I can do this, right?

I can’t wait until my muse flows and I’m spilling out page after page of drama and intrigue, my character’s clashing and the enemy flourishing on their needs. But I’ll never get there if I don’t turn on my music, grab my pen and paper and start writing.

I have a story to tell and hearts to shatter.

Best of wishes for all my fellow NanoWriters and God’s abundant stash of caffeine for me.

We can do this! Happy National Authors Day!

Elisa


Expected word count: 1,000

Actual word count:2,006

Update: The first day of NaNoWriMo is bringing itself to a close and I’m happy with my progress so far.  I’ve done a few quick sprints and even some brief editing.  Can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings!

