NaNoWriMo 2016 – Day 5

My NaNoWriMo update is pretty short today since I already did quite a bit of typing and ‘talking’ in my normal weekly update blog post.

My goal word count for the entire week was 12k and I surpassed that today but writing was once again slow.  It came in small unsatisfying bursts and bits.

I’m thinking of taking a break from writing tomorrow to let my mind rest and recuperate from all the writing I’ve done this week. Quite frankly I’m exhausted and I have some homework piling up that I really need to complete and hand in this weekend.

With this all being said I log in my lowest word count of the month so far (but I did surpass my expected word count!) and probably my most exhausting.

The story is in a bit of a lull between major plot points right now and that’s probably why writing has been so hard. A huge rush of death, betrayal and then some exiling is about to happen and my villain is about to try to sink his dirty claws into my MC’s wrecked emotional state.  Hopefully I’ll be able to work some neat backstory into that part too. So, I’m excited for what’s coming but there are vital bits of information in the boring scenes right now that I’ll need for the later scenes so I will continue to slog forward, in order.

On the bright side, I’m 27% of the way to finish line!

Crazy, I know. I really, truly never expected to get this far in the first week and since I have exceeded my expectations I am all for giving myself a break to readjust my head tomorrow.

See y’all later!

Elisa

Btw, let me know on my social media (twitter, tumblr, weheartit) or here in the comments section about whether or not you’d like to know what music has been keeping me motivated and what programs I’ve been using to keep my progress somewhat steady.


expected word count: 1267 words

actual word count:1,497 words

total word count:13,187 words

This was supposed to be a ‘quick’ update (as in like three lines) but once I got started I couldn’t stop.

