Best Books on Wattpad 2016 – My Top Ten Picks of the Year

I’ve read a lot of books the past year and a fair share of them were on Wattpad. These are the Wattpad books that made my 2016. They made me laugh, think, cry and scream in frustration. I read some of them over and over again, and they all hold special places in my heart.

I started this list back in the beginning of December and it took me a little while but I narrowed the books, in my library and archive, down to my top ten Wattpad books of 2016. I didn’t realize how difficult it would be.

Some of these books are loved by thousands and hundreds of thousands, for good reason, and I also managed to sneak in a few hidden gems. One of them almost didn’t make the list because I found out about it just a few days before I finished this list.

Let’s start with the most obvious book of all of them (If you follow me on twitter, you’ve probably heard me mention this book at least a couple hundred times, at least.).

1. 100 Voicemails by HSH_DeathStar

32074512-368-k266943After a car accident, seventeen year old Steve Carlton, goes into a coma. When he does wake up after a few months, he suffers from temporary memory loss. During this time, he starts to go through his messages and voicemails on his cellphone, trying to get a clue of who he used to be.
Voicemails sent to him from a girl called Ari might have the answers to his questions.
A story told through voicemails. (Book synopsis – credit to author.)

I’ve read this beautiful masterpiece at least a dozen times and I read it again just for this post. It’ll probably always remain one of my favorite books on Wattpad.

This book is easy to read in the sense that each chapter isn’t thousands of words long, a huge plus when you’re reading on the app; but Sarah doesn’t make the chapters short just because:  She uses the shortness to her advantage and because the story is broken into little sections – voicemails- I believe this story carries more emotional weight than it would have otherwise. It’s one of those cases when less is more.

Through voicemails we follow the story of a young woman who is struggling with grief, self-hatred and drugs. What makes the story pull the hardest on my heartstrings is that we’re viewing her story through the perspective of someone who doesn’t remember the girl who once played an enormous part of his life.

2. Perfection by nicole_sheeran927

9837014-176-k372459Perfection is impossible. However, we like to judge people on the impossible. This is a poem about struggling to be perfect. (Book synopsis – credit to author.)

I’ve read this poem more times than I can count. Technically it’s not a ‘book’ but I couldn’t skip it from the list. The perspective Nicole takes on perfection and the way she makes it so personal makes this poem one of my favorites.

It gives me a new perspective on perfection and what it means to be ‘perfect’. We all struggle to upload and withstand ideals and ideas of perfection in some form or another. This poem conveys that struggle in a beautiful and simple manner.

I don’t remember how I stumbled on this poem but it remains one of my all time favorites. I have read it time and time again when I need encouragement or I just want to read familiar lines that hold power.

3. You Whisper Be Brave by girlwithloudmusic

54137277-176-k706438for the ones who didn’t make it (Book synopsis – credit to author.)

This book of poetry has made me cry so many times. Vivianna manages to pack so much intense emotion and power in a few, short lines.

Like ‘100 Voicemails’, the “chapters” – poems in this case – are little bite-sized bits that bring you inside of many different minds of people who are struggling with the same demons in many different forms.

I could go on and on about this book but I believe the title speaks everything that needs to be said.

An excellent tribute to the ones who didn’t make it.

4. Skittles & Science (Old Version) by EternalZephyr

2409283-176-k785735When Reyna Winters finds out that she’s failing Chemistry, she’s given one last chance. She enlists help from the school’s White Coat Freak, Wesley Black. The boy who goes all over school in a white lab coat. He is a snarky, anti-social, chemistry nerd who surprisingly has a soft side. Much more lies under Wesley’s solitary persona that Reyna can’t help but wonder about. While Wesley teaches Reyna about chemistry, she learns more about him and her feelings.
There’s more to Chemistry than just chemicals. There’s love, science, and Skittles. (Book synopsis – credit to author.)

This book was sitting in my library since a little after I created my account, I think, before I decided to crack open it’s pages, so to speak. Part of me regrets waiting so long before I decided to read this book but another part of me squeals with glee because I got to fully immerse myself within the story without being yanked out because of updates.

To be honest, I’m not even sure why I put the book in my library to begin with, I guess it was probably recommended to me by Wattpad or I added it by accident. But I opened it up one day, after I cleaned out my library, and I’m so happy that I did. It’s an amazing story.

I became enraptured by the tale she and I honestly didn’t want to put the story down. I stayed up way too many nights trying to read as far as I could before my eyes shut. This book was the first in a while, that kept my attention after it was caught. I didn’t bother to free myself from the web of Wesley and Reyna. When the book was finished, I was satisfied.

I’m so glad I gave this book a shot.

5. No Capes by joecool123

4579833-176-k9362“Why wear a mask?” I whispered as my fingers brushed the satin garment that revealed only his enigmatic eyes.
“No one can find out my real identity,” He replied, his gaze pouring into mine, “Anyone could be behind this mask. Besides, it keeps me safe.”
I held my breath, realizing just what could happen if he left the city. How that would change everything. “Okay,” I continued, letting the cool drizzle of the nighttime air soak my skin, “I suppose that’s pretty standard… but why not wear a cape? Don’t superheroes usually wear capes?”
He cracked a boyish grin and took a step away from me, like he’d suddenly inherited a windfall of energy. “Nah. Not unless they want a death wish. Capes are hazardous for your health, Madeline.” He looked me directly in the eyes, and I suspected he was about to divulge his best advice so far. “No capes.”   (Book synopsis – credit to author.)

This was the first superhero – esque book that I ever read on Wattpad and I almost didn’t read it, as except for watching the occasional Agent’s of SHIELD episode, I’ve never been much into superhero stuff.

I discovered ‘No Capes’ as I was searching through the Wattys2015 winners page, after I entered the Wattys2016 myself. I remember thinking the cover was cute, which was the whole reason I put it in my library, but I wasn’t too interested in the synopsis at the time.

After a couple of months of the book haunting me every time I entered the Wattpad app, I opened up the book and began to read. I was quickly caught up in a tale of adventure, superpowers, cape-less heroes, and a dash of love. This book has definitely earned it’s place on this list and Lizzie dragged me into a whole new part of Wattpad that I’m not sure I want to return from. Amazing story.

6. Cupid’s Match by LEPalphreyman

38820105-176-k382554

Book cover: credit to the author and artist.

In a world where everyone has a perfect match, what if you were matched with the dangerous, notoriously good looking, original bad boy….Cupid himself?
Dear Lila,
I am contacting you on behalf of The Cupids Matchmaking Service.
You will not have heard of us but we are an organisation that work behind the scenes of society, identifying each person’s perfect match.
Usually we would not contact our clients. We prefer to work in secrecy – setting up the ideal environment for the two matches to have a chance encounter.
Recently, however, we ran your details through our system and…well….in your case… We think you’d better come in.
Please respond at your earliest convenience.
Yours Urgently, The Cupids Matchmaking Service (Book synopsis – credit to author.)

OK, let me just say: the concept of this book is so freaking genius and amazing! In fact I was a bit worried when I saw this book because sometimes author’s fail to bring justice to their fantastic imaginations, especially in the first drafts (I am very guilty of this.).

I don’t remember how I ran across this book either but I do know that I opened it up and sat down to read it, right away.

With some books there’s an adjustment period before you truly sink into a story, especially when it’s a writer’s first draft (-even when it’s a published book too.) and they don’t even know what they’re really doing the first three chapters; but I was drawn right into Lila’s life and the amazing plot that the author had to offer up. I knew right way that even if I never wrote this post I would have to smear this story across all of my social media, just shouting out what an amazing story it is.

I’ve managed to hold myself back until now and I can release myself to just drown in how amazing this book truly is, with lots of re-reads.

7. Ten Reasons Not To Die by RiceLover

2015555-176-k469121“Give me ten days, and I can give you ten reasons not to die.” Evan paused. “And if I can’t change your mind by then, you can go jump off that cliff.” (Book synopsis – credit to author.)

It’s been a long while since I read this book, but I stumbled upon it in my favorites reading list as I was putting this post together. I was quickly transported back to the story and the emotional roller coaster that it threw me on.

This book, I’ll admit, was a bit tough to read and not much throws me in the reading world anymore. Yes, I may shed some tears and I may wish I could throw my computer across the room, but usually I can get through the stories.

It’s written beautifully, if I recall, it’s just heavy and deep at times. I love this book so, so much. I need to read it again, to re-immerse myself into the world that Vanessa created.

8. Men in Tights by tasting_stars

17598282-176-k585932It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s…some doofus dressed in spandex.
The only attention Abby Hamilton enjoys is a standing ovation after a Morriston High School musical. With a father who runs one of America’s most beloved cities and a vigilante brother with thousands of screaming fans, Abby never cared for following their footsteps and becoming a public figure. But when havoc is wrecked on Abby’s hometown, a new superdork becomes her personal stalker, and feelings arise for a mysterious stranger, Abby Hamilton is about to step into an entirely new kind of spotlight.
When it comes to fighting crime, there is only one rule: Trust no one. (Book synopsis – credit to author.)

This was the second superhero book that I read on Wattpad and I enjoyed every second of it!

It came up in my recommendations after I finished ‘No Capes’ and I added it to my library, amused by the synopsis that came with it.

I enjoyed traveling into the new world of impossible feats that this author presented to me. There were some cliche aspects on the book that normally turn me off and make me cringe but I don’t mind cliche if the story is written well and this story is written very well. Danielle made the few cliches that there were work very nicely.

I have the rest of the books in the series in my ‘can’t wait to read’ reading list but I’m almost afraid to crack them open because I’m so satisfied with the way this book wrapped up, even though there were some loose ends. Soon enough those stories will come beckoning though and I will be helpless to ignore their calls, in the meantime I’m enjoying my sanity.

9. Bad Santa: Cupid’s Match Christmas Special by LEPalphreyman

38820105-176-k382554

Book cover: credit to the author and artist.

The time for being good is over. It’s time to be bad…
***
My dearest cupids,
For too long we have adhered to the old ways, the traditions, the r u l e s.
But no more.
I implore you….no, I INSIST of you…
Join us.
The time for being good is over.
It is time to BE BAD.
Yours Scandalously,
S. Klaus
CEO Santa Corp. (Book synopsis – credit to author.)

When I started putting together this book list I promised myself that I wouldn’t put two books by the author on it. But over the Christmas break I had the opportunity to read this stunning special based off of characters from her book, Cupid’s Match, and all such promises flew right out of the window. So, Bad Santa was added to the list.

I love the neat twist that Lauren did with this book and the characters from the precious story: ‘Cupid’s Match’. I read this story with ‘Cupid’s Match’ fresh in my mind, only about five hours apart, and I loved every single moment of this new tale. I didn’t even mind having to wait for the last couple of updates because I knew they were going to be good and that they would make my Holiday season.

Can’t wait to dip into more of Lauren’s stories that I have in my library.

10. Graphic Poetry by CorneliusBirch

91309623-176-k447656

Book cover: credit to the author and artist.

This is a collection of poems I’ve written on a variety of topics: love, food, friends.. (Book synopsis – credit to author.)

This amazing collection of poetry almost didn’t make it to the list. A few days before I was finishing up my list I was asked by Cornelius to participate in a poetry read for read. I almost didn’t catch the post in time but it just happened to be one of those days that I decided to check my notifications that were piling up.

I know that when things finally settle down and my routine goes back to normal, I will be returning to this book. I have so many questions and so many things that these poems have caused me to think of.

Unlike the poems that I previously mentioned, these poems are a bit more lighthearted, I’d say, but they still hold the same immense depth. There are so many layers that I have yet to explore and I’m excited to do so.


These are the stories, poems, authors, and books that made my 2016.  I’m so excited to share a few of my favorites with y’all.  They took me on amazing adventures with so many creative twists and turns. I hope y’all find the same joy and amazement as I did when I scrolled through their ‘pages’.

What stories made your 2016?

Stay Safe.

Elisa

You can check out my work on Wattpad too: @elisalromagnoli. 

Disclaimer: credit for all synopsis’, quotes, excerpts, and cover photos are given to the artists and authors. I am in no way taking credit for anything other than my opinions and the blog graphic at the top (made with Canva).

One thought on “Best Books on Wattpad 2016 – My Top Ten Picks of the Year

Comments are closed.